poema sinfónico para marimba y orquesta

Originally written for marimba and orchestra, this work highlights different Andean rhythms and brings them together in a symphonic poem which tells the story of indigenous identity. It contains three movements:

 I) AMANECER ANDINO - andean dawn

II) RECUERDO Y DANZA DEL INDIO - memory and indigenous dance

III) IDENTIDAD - identity


From the first note the marimba immerses the listener in a magical atmosphere, full of possibilities so infinite in its structure and timbres that, with each interpretation, they find a different world.

The work experiences new techniques and resources in the interpretation of the marimba with four drumsticks which highlight the virtuosity of the soloist.

Traditional Ecuadorian rhythms such as the Inca Fox, Danzante and Yumbo are compiled in this symphonic poem.

In the Andean dawn, there is a picture of the pre-Columbian Andes, when the sun subtly emerges on the horizon with its faint rays representing the birth and splendor of the indigenous culture, which is obscured by clouds that foreshadow its painful destiny. Then there is the collision of two different worlds, ours and the other, which damages our worldview. The result of this collision is the loss of much of the indigenous identity. The Indian mourns his uncertain destiny, remembering those times when he was free, when he tilled his soil and reaped its fruits, worshiping the sun and the moon.

In a globalized culture many things are lost that are ours, sometimes even feelings seem alien to our world. This is a call to our identity, it is a call to courage and unity, and above all it is a call to believe in us, as a bond that makes us so unique and special. For me, there is only one was to express this, music, the universal language which cannot be spoken, only felt.


Work dedicated to Marco, Ligia and Israel: my family.

orchestra PDF score & parts
only for rental 


PIANO REDUCTION - with  solo marimba part
"RAÍCES" marimba & piano reduction
marimba (5 octaves) and piano
"RAÍCES" marimba low A & piano reduction
marimba (low A) and piano




           Marimba 5 octaves (C2-C7)

           Adaptation for marimba 4.3 octaves (A2-C7)


  • Marimba & Orchestra

Piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 B-flat clarinets, 2 bassoons,  contrabassoon, 4 horns, 2 B-flat trumpets, 2 trombones, tuba, timpani, percussion (glockenspiel, chimes, piatti, susp. cymbal, tam-tam, snare drum, gran cassa, andean bass drum, chagchas and triangle) harp and string orchestra​​

  • Piano reduction - marimba & piano

  • Marimba & Percussion ensemble




           22:00 min.